04.13.10

10:11 p.m.

Today starts week three of my jury duty.

THREE WEEKS. The prosecution isn't even done yet! That means I still have to sit through the defense's case and closing statements. Not to mention deliberation (unless I'm an alternate - fingers crossed!).

The funny thing is, that when you first show up for jury duty you watch a nice little video outlining the process. Interspersed throughout is a bunch of former jury members telling you how rewarding serving on a jury trial is, how much pride they felt for doing their civic duty, and how interesting/educational the process was; they didn't regret it and look forward to doing it again.

I call bullshit.

I hate this. Everyone else in the jury hates this. I can guarantee that none of the interviewed jury members were on a trial slated to last a better part of a month - or longer. This is one of the worst experiences of my life. Keep in mind, that a lot of my life has sucked: I've been homeless, addicted to meth, bulimic, etc. So, for me to list this as one of the worst experiences of my life, you know it's pretty shitty.

This trial has royally fucked with my emotional health; I don't think I've slept more than 2-3 consecutive hours since it started (in March!). It's also set me way back on my research and course work which has only deteriorated my mental health even more!

It's also apparently made me Catholic. I've been to church more in the past 3 weeks than I have in the past 10 years. I even sat (read: kneeled) through Good Friday and Easter mass, which should at least make me an honorary Catholic, right? My knees are still sore...

The Captain has been supportive throughout, but really how supportive can someone be? I can't talk about it and I cry all the time. I know it makes him uncomfortable and I feel as if he (and his roommate) have been forced to babysit me.

I need this to end. For my sanity. And for the safety of others - I'm going to be PMSy very soon...

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory