12.29.06

1:15 a.m.

no one truly changes

I usually enjoy this time of year; it�s about wiping the slate clean and starting new. However, as I thought about my last entry and why I feel so left out of my family I realized that while everyone wants you to, no one allows you to truly change. To them, I�m still the angry and bitter druggie thief I was when I was 16, and I�ll never be anything else in their minds no matter how much I try to convince them otherwise. It�s been over 10 years.

I haven�t been that person in a very long time.

I honestly believe that I�m more compassionate and caring and I try to understand other people�s situations and empathize as much as I can, but nothing will change their perception of me anymore. I was that person for a long time, and though the drugs stopped long ago, I�ve still been a very bitter and angry person.

People expect it from me, and no matter how much I try to prove them wrong in the back of their minds, there will always be doubt as to whether or not my actions and intentions are true. I�ve tried being more open with my family and attending more family functions the past few years, but this Christmas I truly tried. I truly gave it everything I had and listened and talked and tried. Even though I was afraid and shy and scared of rejection I still tried, and it wasn�t good enough.

I don�t think it ever will be.

Even my best friends don�t think I can change. Jackie questioned everything I've done or said the past few months. If she talks bad about a mutual friend, instead of just listening and letting her continue, I say I disagree. I told her I started volunteering and she laughed at me and asked what the catch was � what would I get out of it? When I made the mistake of saying I wanted a family she laughed, and then scoffed at the idea that I could ever do it. I don�t say negative or mean things anymore and she asks what�s wrong with me.

I�ve been a negative person for so long, no one believes I can be anything other than that. They can�t believe that I truly want to be happy; that I don�t want to be so negative and angry all the time.

I can tell that even Sam doubts that I can change.

And, maybe I haven�t. I still have to try. I�m not happy and positive and smiling all the time, I still have days when I�m bitter and angry and sad. I cry still, too. But maybe it�s all just an act that I�m doing to fool myself into believing I�m a better person than I honestly am. Maybe I�ll always be an evil and negative person. No one else seems to believe I can, or have, changed. Maybe I�m only fooling myself.

I mean if I�ve truly changed, I wouldn�t have to try, right?

IMG_4195
The only one that thinks I'm nice.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory