08.30.04

11:27 p.m.

Panic stricken

192 hours, 33 minutes, 27 seconds

I�ve changed my countdown to reflect the next phase in my life...old age. I will turn a quarter of a century on Saturday, and I�m beginning to feel the wrinkles forming. Anxiety about school has been replaced with anxiety about my life. Twenty five years on this planet and what do I have to show for it? Nothing. No husband (not even a fling to speak of), no offspring, no house, nothing to call my own but a few fading tattoos, a hole in my tongue, a beat up car and a beat up dog.

I�m impatient. I want to be through with college, a successful homeowner and upstanding citizen that contributes to society. All I am now is a leech on my mother and the general public.

I�m beginning to notice parallels in my life and that of a 50 year-old balding man going through a midlife crisis.

1. I basically quit my job and started college. Not far from Mr. Fifty quitting his job, selling his house and becoming a nomad.

2. I am surrounded by gorgeous, virile 18 year-old guys, and I feel the urge to molest them. I�m sure I could teach them a few things, and I�m fairly certain eighteen year-olds are exceedingly eager to learn. Damn my morals, and fear of being laughed at by my peers. Oh, Mr. Midlife Crisis, I feel your pain.

3. I have this incredible urge to buy a new car. Not a Ferrari, Lamborghini, or God forbid a DeLorean, but a fuel saving Prius. Guys go for speed, I go for economy.

4. I completely changed my hair, waxed my body and bought a new wardrobe. Ok, maybe not a completely new wardrobe, but enough that I feel guilty about it. Soon, I�ll be pricing hair pieces and extensions.

5. I can�t remember what I did yesterday, let alone last week. I think it�s the beginning of Alzheimer�s.

So, maybe I exaggerate a bit, but I�m feeling increasingly paranoid about my impending birthday.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory