08.29.04

11:37 p.m.

Oh, Canada

So, being a 24 year old college freshman isn�t as horrible as I thought it would be. So far, the actual school work has been quite simple, and I�ve been pleasantly surprised. I realize it�s not going to be this effortless for long, so I might as well enjoy it while it lasts.

I have noticed a few odd things around campus:

1. There are a significant amount of girls who walk around in full make-up, beauty contestant hair, high heels and mini skirts. Now, I trek a mile across campus in flip flops and find it annoying, I can�t imagine doing it in stilettos. What in the hell are these people thinking? Maybe I�m just too lazy. I mean, how sexy can you look while wearing goggles, gloves and an apron in the chemistry lab? Girls...I�ll never understand them. Of course, maybe I should take a lesson from them, it could be the reason I�m single. No, my stupid mouth is to blame for that.

2. An inordinate amount of people are wearing the Lance Armstrong wristbands. I feel so trendy I want to vomit. I have ceased wearing mine; instead it hangs from my backpack. Still trendy, just not too trendy. At least that�s what I�m telling myself.

In other news, I went to the doctor for my recheck. I tried to get out of it by calling and telling the nurse that my medications were working fine, and requested a prescription be written in lieu of an actual appointment. She called me back after asking the doctor, and informed me that I would have to return to see the doctor because � and this was her reason � I�ve only been seen once. Shocking, a five minute appointment where the doctor didn�t do a damn thing isn�t sufficient healthcare.

So, I go in for my recheck (which I had to schedule during my lunch hour on Friday), shell out the $30 co-pay, and get put straight in a room, no weight, no blood pressure...nothing. The nurse came in, asked me what I was there for � shouldn�t she know? � and told me the PA would be right in. PA? I didn�t go to see the PA. I went to see the damn doctor. Since I didn�t really have a choice in the matter, I let it go.

Two minutes later, the PA came in asked me why I was there � once again, shouldn�t he know? Here�s our 30 second conversation:

Mr. PA: �Ok, so the meds are working for you?�

A very perturbed me: �Yep�

Mr. PA while walking out the door: �Well, let me go write you a prescription.�

He came back in, apologized for the inconvenience, and handed me a prescription. As he was showing me the door, this actually came out of his mouth, �Oh, I suppose I should listen to your chest!� He then whipped out his stethoscope, listened to one full breath while I was standing there with the doorknob in hand, and deemed my lungs �clear as a bell�. Everything was over with in a matter of seconds. I was pissed. I just paid $30 to have a 30 second interchange with a guy who didn�t even have the tenacity to become a real physician. I asked the receptionist for a refund, and she politely told me to fuck off. Nice.

Since the �recheck� took less time than I had thought it would, I went to get my prescription filled before I had to go back to work. I spent $65 on the two medications with insurance. Thinking ahead, I asked the pharmacist for the price of the medications without insurance, so I could be prepared for future refills. I�ll never be prepared. One prescription (Clarinex) is $90 a month, and the other (Advair) is $189 per month. What the fuck?! I just spent $125 for a prescription that�s completely useless to me. I guess I�ll be phlegm free and able to breathe for a month; then it�s back to the Benedryl and Primetene Mist for me.

I�m packing my bags and moving to Canada. I�m bitter.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory