11.07.07

4:25 p.m.

If you can't find it, ask me I'll send it to you

As often as Herman had witnessed the slaughter of animals and fish, he always had the same thought: In their behavior toward creatures, all men were Nazis. The smugness with which man could do with other species as he pleased exemplified the most extreme racist theories, the principle that might is right.
- Isaac Bashevis Singer: Enemies, A Love Story

So, I watched Our Daily Bread again last night because it makes me never want to eat again. I highly recommend it. Not because it makes me never want to eat again, but because ignorance is not bliss, and the way our food makes it to our plates is disgusting and immoral. That, and it's cinematography is gorgeous. Despite the content, the film is amazingly beautiful. There is no narration, no text, and no explanation of what is happening. It's just the hum of the machinery and the faint chattering of the workers. It may bore some, but I sat there with my jaw dropped open the four times that I've watched it.

Obviously, I don't hate people who eat meat, and I don't think any less of them. I just wish everyone knew the reality of our food system. I also wish I could buy organic everything, but it just isn't feasible right now. I'm poor and organic food is expensive. I go to the farmer's market as much as possible and I buy organic when I can, but there are still a ton of things I buy that aren't organic. As much as I love Whole Foods, I can't afford to buy everything there. Therefore, I'm a hypocrite, and I fully admit that.

Anyway, this wasn't meant to be a soapbox post.

I've been sick the past two days, and I feel like I'm falling so far behind in classes that it's making me anxious.

I've been a bad friend lately and haven't really spoken with anyone. I'm sorry if I haven't emailed you, or written you, or called you, or left a comment on your site; I still love you. I'm just being selfish at the moment.

I'm sorry.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory