11.08.06

1:25 a.m.

a true epiphany

I don�t know what�s happening to me.

When I look back on my life, I realize what a self-centered and selfish person I�ve been. Since the surgery, something has changed in me. I still feel empty, but something else has changed, too.

It�s like losing my ovary has made my body more maternal. I know that seems backwards, but it�s the only way I can think to explain it. Maybe it�s because I�ve come to terms with the fact that I might not be able to have children anymore. My body decided to kick me in the ass and tell me to wake up.

Or more likely it�s just the fucked up hormone levels in my body.

Anyway, in the past 7 days, I�ve had nothing but time to think about my life, but it�s been different then the nights I�ve spent holed up in my car. I think about the horrible things I�ve thought, and the negative things I�ve wished on people, and I cry. I cry all the time, even when I�m happy, or just explaining an everyday occurrence or watching Extreme Makeover or when some stupid game show contestant tells us about their family. When before the tears were self pity (and I admit, some still are) it�s like these tears are for everyone I�ve hurt, and all the people I love that I�ve wronged.

I don�t know how to explain it. Somehow, someway, I developed empathy and sympathy practically overnight.

I think about children all the time now. There are 2 boys down the street that talk to my mother. They�re nice young boys, but I�ve never talked to them or really cared about them before because they didn�t directly affect me and how I felt. Saturday, they came over and told my mother that their mom had tried to commit suicide by drinking antifreeze, and the older boy found her lying unconscious when he came home from a friend�s house. Their father got out of prison Friday, and now he�s there taking care of them. Before I wouldn�t have cared, and somehow reconciled it in my head so that I didn�t feel anything.

I care now. I really care, and to be honest, I just want to help them. It�s not their fault. They are probably the nicest kids in this neighborhood and now they�re going to suffer through no fault of their own and there�s nothing I can do about it.

I can�t stop thinking about how sad it is for kids that are going through divorce, and how hard it was for me. I can�t even imagine what it would be like if I was younger when it happened. I just want to hug them and tell them that it�s not their fault.

I know these are probably just normal thoughts for everyone else, but I really was selfish before. I never saw it. I justified every negative and bad thing I thought about someone because I made myself out to be better than them in my head.

People who had bad things happen to them deserved it in my mind.

I think because I believe that I deserved every bad thing that�s ever happened to me.

I promised myself that when I get a good paying job, I�m going to donate as much as I can to scholarships for other people. There are so many people that helped me pay for college, and I just took it for granted; like I deserved it. Going to a luncheon was nothing more than an inconvenience to me, when I should�ve been kissing their feet.

I just feel so bad for all the horrible things I�ve done, for all the horrible things I�ve thought, and for all the times I manipulated people.

Today, I told Sam a secret that I�ve kept for a long time, and I�ve felt so guilty about it � even before the surgery � but more so since. I can�t believe that I would be so selfish and manipulative to someone that I love so much. And it kills me, because I do love him very much and he is my best friend and always will be. I was so worried about me and how things would affect me that I quit caring about him.

There are no words for how bad I feel and how I wish I could change so many things that I�ve done and so many thoughts that I�ve had.

Tonight as I talked to Sam about a problem he had, I honestly, truly, for the first time thought only about him and his feelings. I wasn�t thinking about how his choices would affect me, or how his choices reflected his feelings for me, because they don�t. Not everything is about me, and I�m 27 years old and just figured that out.

I cried, not because I was sad for me, but because he was hurting and I just wanted it to go away no matter what. No matter if it hurt me, or I didn�t get what I wanted, or if he didn�t choose me, because all I cared about was him.

I know I probably seem so stupid. These are probably things that everyone�s already figured out, but I haven�t. I hide it well I guess. I hide the real me well.

Honestly, I know this has to do with hating myself, and how my self hatred was so bad that I could only think about me. But, I still don�t love myself, so why am I changing like this now?

You�d think I turned into a hippie. I don�t know, maybe I did. I just don�t want to hurt anymore. I don�t want to hurt, and I don�t want to hurt anyone else. This world is hard enough without hurting the people you love and care about. Or those that you don�t even know for that matter.

I�ve been thinking a lot about Mark, too. But, I�m tired and sore and need to go lie down again to talk about it tonight.

Anyway, I�m sorry that this won�t make sense to anyone other than me. I just spewed it out and it�s probably not even coherent. Forgive me.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory