07.01.06

2:35 a.m.

awake is the new sleep

Here�s a letter I wrote to one of my loveliest friends. It pretty much sums it up.

I�m not dying. At least not yet. The doctor walked in and this is the first thing that came out of her mouth, "Well, you're a victim of really bad genes."

Um, thanks. Makes me feel better.

So, I'm anemic, hypoglycemic, have high cholesterol, high blood pressure and an elevated BUN/CREA level.

Yay for me.

My kidneys are starting to fail. YAY!

I have diseases only fat people have. YAY!

But, I'm malnourished in the iron department. YAY!

So now I'm on a whole bunch of medications that are treating the symptoms, not the problem.

I guess the problem solving is up to me. I have to quit this purging shit. Who knew it would make me this fucked up?

Have a happy birthday! MUAH!

me

So, that�s about it. I pretty much suspected the anemia. The high triglycerides threw me for a loop, I really didn�t expect that. Though my mother�s were so high at one point she had cholesterol bumps, or xanthomas, which were white bumps of cholesterol coming out of her skin it was so high. Yeah, gross. Odds were eventually I�d have high triglycerides, too.

No bumps though. Phew.

Also, my good cholesterol level was great. She said that was a sign it was inherited and not poor diet. Stupid doctor.

I�ve had high blood pressure both times I�ve been to the doctor. Hello, I�m not fond of people, waiting rooms, doctors or scales. Of course my blood pressure is high when I�m there. This time it was higher than last�um, I thought I was dying. Should I be calm? Anyway, I can tell she�s a prescriber so because of my family history and my high triglycerides she wanted to put me on blood pressure pills.

YAY! Now, I�m taking the same medications as an obese 60 year-old.

My kidney levels (BUN/CREA) were elevated, but she didn�t really discuss why. I guess she wasn�t that concerned. I have no medicine for that, and I don�t know what caused it. Well, I do. But, you know�I�m not sure why...whatever. Nevermind.

My father has hypoglycemia, but I really didn�t expect that I�d have it, too. I don�t get shaky before meals, and if I skip a meal I actually feel better. When I fast I feel amazing. But then I looked at other symptoms and it seems I have quite a few. My grandmother had insulin dependent type 1 diabetes, which I thought I couldn�t just�get. I don�t know, I�m confused about the whole diabetes thing because there are both types in my family. Maybe I should research that more.

You know how some people have that �ah-ha!� moment, and suddenly they want to change their lives? Yeah, I didn�t really have that, and I don�t know why. Maybe I�m still in shock that at 26 I have medical issues that warrant medication. A lot of medications. Seven to be exact.

Damn it, now I�m going to need one of those pill carrier things that old people haul around and pop out at dinner time.

I hate medication.

I came home from the clinic upset, angry, and scared. I lashed out at my mother and blamed her. But, I know it�s not her fault, she didn�t want her genes either.

I suppose I�m still in denial. I don�t know.

I do know that next week I�m going to have a very long time alone to think about it, and my life in general. I want that ah-ha! moment. I want to come home with a completely new view on life.

This is going to be my road trip�s theme song. Silly, but upbeat, happy and encouraging.

I want to be better, and I promise I will try.

For you and for me.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory