10.07.04

2:12 p.m.

bereft

I had lunch with my father yesterday. It�s a ritual we do once a month or so. I imagined when I grew older I would be able to go back to my parent�s house and feel comforted...comfortable. Talk with them; spend time together. Instead, I�m penciled in for a lunch date, and we talk � shallowly � about our lives for an hour, then we�re off in our separate directions again.

We used to be so close; I used to tell him everything. We could sit on the couch and watch a football game; or go to the lake, go camping, or to amusement parks...wherever, and we�d enjoy each other�s company. We�d laugh, we�d smile, we�d joke. Now, I feel as if I�m having lunch with a business partner. It�s...sterilized.

There�s an uneasiness about the whole situation. I want so much to tell him things, share my life in a deeper sense than just �School�s going good� and �Did you see the game last weekend?� But I censor myself.

He�s changed. I�ve changed.

I miss the old us.

He told me that my grandmother is dying of leukemia; so nonchalantly, no show of emotion. The same way he told me when he had colon cancer; just matter-of-factly.

I haven�t seen my grandmother in over fifteen years. She lives in Germany and I�ve yet to have the disposable income to just jet across the Atlantic. I know if I ever did, I�d have the same uneasy feeling I�m beginning to experience around my father.

I feel bereft. My incoherent thoughts can�t express the loss. Not for my grandmother, but for the relationship with my father.

I don�t want it to continue like this, yet I know no way of fixing it.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory