09.08.04

12:18 a.m.

Eulogy

You were a good dog.

But, there comes a time when your spirit is stronger than your frail body. I couldn�t watch you suffer needlessly to pacify my own selfish desire. You gave selflessly to me. You listened intently when I needed to vent. You consoled me silently with your wise mahogany eyes. Your altruistic ways kept me from harm when I was ten and home alone...and every day since. You never wanted anything more than to make me happy. Well, except for the occasional cookie.

As I drove you to the clinic, you looked out the window. Excited just to get to go for a ride. I�m sorry I didn�t bring you more often; I forgot how much you loved car rides. I neglected a lot of things as you grew older...

I carried you in the clinic, crying. Not for you, but for me. I knew in my heart you�d be better off. But what about me? What am I supposed to do without you? How can I get up each morning and not see you? How can I take the other dogs for a walk without you? I�m sure they�ll notice your absence, too.

As the thick pink solution flowed into your vein, your head fell slowly in my lap. I�ve done this hundreds of times before...it�s nothing new. Yet, this was different. This was my decision. This was a culmination of my actions, not someone else�s. Of course, you had to make it hard. You had to fight to stay alive. You kept breathing...forced us to do a cardiac stick. Of course, you were gone by then. It was just the mechanics of your body slowly coming to a stop. You didn�t feel any pain then. That�s what I have to tell myself. That�s what everyone has to tell themselves when this happens, right?

As I placed your limp, lifeless body in the black trash bag, I wept again. But this time, it was for you. For the things you�ll miss. For the suffering I�d put you through. For everything you and I will never experience again.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory