08.21.04

1:14 a.m.

I've packed a change of clothes and it's time to move on

The Elway Game of Fame was absolutely wonderful. Oh wait. No it wasn�t � it was postponed until October. It seems appropriate for the week I�ve had.

Thursday night, five minutes into my commute, my engine started running hot. I figured I could ignore it until I arrived home. So much for the �If you ignore something long enough, it�ll go away� theory. The temp gauge went straight to the red danger zone and I was forced to pull over. After letting the engine cool a few minutes, I decided to investigate. Antifreeze � check. Oil � check. Fan belt intact � check. I had exhausted my limited knowledge of cars. After it was sufficiently cooled, I continued my long journey home - total of 12 miles and 4 stops to cool the engine later � I finally arrived an hour and forty-five minutes later. It was loads of fun.

I got home, took a nice shower and ate a healthy dinner consisting of Diet Caffeine Free Coke and Jiffy Pop. I settled in and decided to check my e-mail. It was painfully absent of any mail from people I actually knew, or cared to contact. About 30 minutes before 10:00 I receive a phone call. It was an automated call from Ticketmaster telling me the game had been postponed until October 1st. Yet another piece of good news.

I drifted into a nice slumber only to be rudely awakened by my cell phone. Apparently, J had been in a bar fight, and landed his ass in jail. Lucky me, I was the first person he thought to call. Probably because I have the simplest number in the world to remember � yes, even easier than 867-5309. Half-way asleep, and probably still dreaming, I reluctantly agreed to post bail. I don�t know what I was thinking. I haven�t seen or spoken to him in over a year. Unfortunately, I had an hour long drive to think about it. Seeing as my car was dying, I borrowed my mother�s. At least the radio works in it.

I get to the jail, post his bail, and drive him home. Suddenly sober, he tried to make small talk. We discussed why I shouldn�t have come, why we haven�t talked, and why he shouldn�t have called me. He ran inside, gave me the bail money, and promised to call. I stopped him as he was walking up the stairs and told him not to. Don�t call. My life may lack sex, but it doesn�t lack complexity...I don�t need any more distractions than I already have. He argued for a minute. Told me he missed me. He missed us.

I told him I didn�t, then moved on.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory