08.13.04

11:40 p.m.

HMO/PPO/EPO/POS...WTF?

I went to the doctor this morning. I couldn�t put it off any longer. I haven�t been in 7 years, and my insurance coverage is being dropped at the end of the month. Considering I�ve used the emergency room as my primary care provider for awhile now, I thought it wise to actually visit a real family practitioner.

My appointment was at 9:15; I was ushered into a room, had a 5 minute conversation with the doctor, and was ushered out to make another appointment in 2 weeks. Is this how medical care works these days? I was appalled at the lack of interest in my health. Most people probably don�t want a lecture about smoking or how they�re pretty much killing themselves slowly, but I do. I need to hear about how I�m going to die at 30 if I don�t do something now; I needed that revelation. I can hear about cancer and death and disease all day long on in the media, but until it�s directed specifically at me, I can always ignore it. I want someone who�s in charge of my healthcare to tell me I�m stupid. Maybe that�s just me.

I feel jilted, slighted, gypped. I�ve had more attentive, compassionate care in the ER. I had a million things to ask, and I didn�t get to ask a single one. I was kindly told by the nurse, that they can only see me for one problem per visit. I was thinking about setting 8 or 9 appointments all in a row, but I�d probably come off looking like a hypochondriac.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory