06.27.04

11:33 a.m.

Junk

Jackie had a yard sale yesterday. I was roped into helping. It�s amazing how much junk people accumulate. It�s even more amazing how much junk people are willing to buy if it�s priced at a quarter.

After only four hours we sold almost everything and raked in about $300. We decided to call it a day and as with all yard sales we conduct, we donated the left over items to charity. I suggested we donate all the useful stuff to the DAV and haul the rest of the garbage to the dump. Jackie however wanted to give the good stuff to Goodwill instead. After much debate, she won...because after all it was her junk.

We pulled up with a truck full of boxed clothes, a couch in immaculate condition (just hideously ugly), and a nice set of dining room chairs. Granted, these weren�t pretty, up to date furniture pieces, but they certainly weren�t dump material. Think 70�s era grandma furniture. The clothes were in damn near perfect condition because they didn�t fit Jackie�s husband anymore; some he had never even worn. They included brand new San Francisco 49er�s jerseys (Which I wouldn�t pay a dime for personally), brand name clothing, and really nice down jackets. They glanced at the furniture as we drove up and immediately refused to take anything. I suppose they assumed that anyone with that taste in furniture wouldn�t have great taste in clothing. The guy wouldn�t even bother looking at the boxes of clothes and said the couch and chairs wouldn�t sell because, �They aren�t in style�. After a minute of debate we realized that they didn�t deserve our donation and took off. You know...someone�s grandma is missing out on a really nice couch.

Every time I�ve been to Goodwill, this has happened to some degree. I understand that a lot of people probably try to pawn off their junk just so they don�t have to pay the $30 to haul it to the dump, but come on...he couldn�t even bother looking? I presume they have to furnish their new 2.3 million dollar building with upper class appeal now; thrift store shopping has become so trendy.

We brought the items to the DAV and they accepted them....graciously.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory