09.19.06

2:13 a.m.

aspens

On Sunday I decided to go for a drive in the mountains to get some pictures of the changing aspen trees. Unfortunately, they weren't changing as much as I had expected so I'll have to return next weekend.

My ankle is still pretty unstable from my fall, so I couldn't hike. (Though I'm so out of shape a small walk across campus makes me feel like I'm going to die, so I'm pretty sure I wouldn't be hiking much anyway. But, I'll leave the self-hate for another day.)

I did venture a little down a few trails, and I found a large boulder to lie on and just be.

The smell of nature, and campfire, and dirt made me miss the days when I went camping regularly. I can drive across the country alone, but even I think it's unsafe to camp alone. Otherwise, I'd do it.

Anyway, I just lied on the rock, stared into the sky and listened to the aspens in the breeze. I could've stayed there all day.

There are few things that make me as happy as this.

Unfortunately, I saw about 5 sites throughout the camping section of the park that looked identical to this:

Why bother?

I mean, why bother? You're spending all your time siting in a smaller version of your home, watching Dish Network, eating microwaved dinners. That isn't camping; that's unnecessarily burning a larger hole in the ozone.

Leave camping to people that actually enjoy being outside.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory