06.07.06

2:44 a.m.

Complete with a picture of my forehead

I received a lovely email from a very lovely girl, and decided to take her advice. I needed to get out of my house, so I went hiking.

I�m wallowing in self pity, and the longer I sit here the longer it will take me to get out of this rut.

It was a cloudy overcast day today, and it seemed like perfect weather to me. I�m not a huge fan of the heat, so a nice mild day was just what I needed.

Colorado literally means the color red. There is no question as to where that name came from. I�ve seen it all my life and sometimes I have a hard time remembering how beautiful the mountains are. Where I see bland and colorless, others see vibrant red.

I forget that most people�s dirt is brown.

The clouds muted the color, but I loved this sign.

Hikers crossing

There�s a notorious tunnel on the way to my hiking site, and I�ve been afraid of it since I first heard its urban legend when I was 15. Supposedly at night if you stop inside the tunnel and turn off your lights you�ll see someone hanging from the top of the tunnel and when you leave you�ll find handprints on your bumper. I�m pretty sure this is a standard urban legend for most tunnels. One night as a teenager, stoned off my ass, we were dared and couldn�t refuse. Of course my imagination had run wild and I saw �someone� hanging. There were handprints, which had obviously come from us closing the trunk prior to entering the tunnel. I was scared out of my mind and haven�t been through the tunnel at night since. In fact, I still silently freak out in the daytime when I drive through it.

Today I decided to get over my fear, and I walked through it.

Just leaving

Inside the tunnel

Here�s my big head leaving the tunnel. Just so I can prove to myself that I actually did it.
A zit and some dandruffy looking stuff have been edited out by my best friend, but he refused to edit out the two lines on my forehead. I�ve just recently discovered that those lines aren�t normal, and no one else has them. I�ve got a deformed head and I�ve never noticed before. Or rather, I noticed, I just didn�t realize that no one else had those, too.

Leaving the darkness

I really hate them. It looks like I had brain surgery.

Now for a lichen interlude:

Yet

Neon

This one gives me the heebie-jeebies.

Yellow

I took some pictures of trees, too. Exciting.

Odd

Exposed

Tree roots

And little baby pinecones

Baby pinecones

Then, I saw the saddest site in the forest. I was walking and saw something shimmering ahead. As I approached, I thought it was broken glass from some teenage party. But it wasn�t, it was a tree that had been slaughtered, and was bleeding.

Bleeding

Trees have

The photos don�t do it justice. It was absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking all at once.

I guess this proves I�m a tree hugging hippie.

Thank you to everyone who sent kind words and encouragement. Sometimes I just ramble and need to vent. It�s nice to know that I�m not alone, and that I�m not the only person who has felt like this. It�s also beautifully overwhelming knowing how many people, who have never even met me, care so much for me. Know that I care about every one of you just as much as you care about me. I am so grateful to know each and every one of you.

Thank you for believing in me even when I don't.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory