07.11.04

11:50 p.m.

I know why I'll die alone

It�s quite apparent why I�m single; I�m the worst date on the planet.

Friday, I went on a date. The plan was to meet at a bar downtown and then walk to the theater to see Fahrenheit 9/11. While I was at the bar I decided to grab a Bloody Mary and calm my nerves. It�s been awhile since I�ve been on a blind date, and I must admit I was a little nervous. Let me just interject that I�m a complete moron when I�m nervous and things just bypass the filter between my mind and my mouth. Well, he showed up and we started talking. Being the blatantly honest person I am, I just started saying whatever came to my mind. Also, I didn't quite comprehend the fact that I didn't know this person, and my sarcastic comments and my big mouth might actually offend him. He asked how my week went, I said, �Great, I was in court on Thursday for my bankruptcy hearing�. Hmm...not quite the best topic for a first date. He mentioned he worked with credit card encryption. I quickly opened my mouth and said something to the effect of: �Can you make me rich?� Now, I look like a complete money grubbing ass. I�m also pretty sure I mentioned drugs, hermaphrodites and jail time. Wow, I�m a catch.

Being the nice guy he obviously was, he didn�t run the other direction. We started walking down to the theater, and I literally called him a dork. It was completely in jest, but nonetheless, I called the poor guy a dork. I wanted to run away.

Ok, movie time. I couldn�t possibly say anything moronic in a movie theater right? True, but it doesn�t mean I can�t make an ass out of myself. During the most heart wrenching scenes, I was probably the only person in the theater who wasn�t misty eyed; I�m sure I came off as some cold-hearted bitch. So, movies don�t make me emotional, and I'm a black hole of emotion � sue me. I laughed at the most inappropriate times, and I was silent when others were laughing.

Finally, the movie was over and the credits started rolling; people started clapping (which annoys the crap out of me � for God�s sake it�s a flipping movie). I immediately stood up. I then noticed I was the only one standing. Everyone was so enthralled with the movie that they insisted on reading the credits. I immediately sat back down. He glanced at me like I was crazy. Ok, it looked safe to stand, so I began walking out of the theater. I think he followed - I probably should�ve waited. Phew � he was right beside me and we started to talk about the movie. He loved it � I didn�t. (I thought it was nothing more than Bush bashing propaganda, and if Michael Moore had the inclination to make a movie stating that I single-handedly started the war, he could�ve. Now, I hate Bush as much as the next liberal, but he�s a moron and doesn�t have the brainpower to be the mastermind behind all the conspiracy theories stated in the movie.)

As we chatted I headed straight for my car and didn�t even bother asking where he was parked. We stopped at an intersection and he said his car was parked the other direction. Poor guy, he was looking for the quickest way to exit the date. I thanked him for the movie and we went our separate ways.

Now...I feel like a complete bitch. He was kind and put up with my nervous/sarcastic/rude comments like a champ. The things that irritate me the most � I�m not a bitch, I didn�t mean to be rude, and I�m fairly certain I scared the shit out of him. My sense of humor should be contained until people know me better; it can sound incredibly rude if you don�t know I�m joking. Also, I'm never going to a social event when my mind is preoccupied again. I was in too much of a rush to go home, and didn't focus any of my attention on the task at hand.

I promise I will never wonder why I�m single again.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory