06.20.04

10:17 p.m.

No, I don't work here...

Orientation wasn�t anything like I expected � it was worse.

I was literally the only one there who a) was over 18, b) didn�t have a mommy or a daddy with me, and c) was alone.

The day started off with checking in and eating breakfast. Personally, I almost never have breakfast, so that part was extremely boring. We then had a quick tour of the building we were in and were herded like cattle into a lecture room. I glanced around the room to see if I really was the only one over 18 (excluding the parents); it was true, I was. At one point in time I thought I had found a comrade, but it turned out to be someone�s father. The speaker was a graduate student talking about how college isn�t like high school; people won�t hold your hand and force feed you information to memorize. She then went on to emphasize the importance of registering to vote. I quit listening about that time. I was too enthralled with looking around the room at the other freshmen. I wondered if they were as frightened as I was. I wanted to know what they thought of me � Who�s the old chick sitting alone? They all seemed so...similar.

The parents were asked to leave and it was time for the dreaded math placement test. I had decided that I was only answering the questions I knew exactly how to do. I�m pretty good at getting to an answer in a very round about way, but figured if I didn�t know how to do it the proper way, I was leaving it blank. I left a lot blank.

Next, we were split into smaller groups according to major to meet our advisor. I went with the whole other eight kids who claimed engineering of some sort as their intended major. From the looks of it � engineering is a pretty dorky major. We met our advisor � Chris - who, though probably younger than me, was pretty cute in a weird geeky sort of way. He talked a mile a minute about his office hours, where he was located, what to go see him for, and how helpful he could be. Once again, I zoned out because he started talking about high school. I should really get the whole �zoning out� thing under control. I suppose when the information is actually relevant to me somehow � as in I need to learn it � I�ll do better.

After the whole spiel, we were given a little more of a campus tour, however it was raining, so it went quite quickly. Off to lunch for us. I remember why I hated cafeteria food. It lacks any flavor what so ever. I skipped lunch and went outside to smoke. I don�t think I�ve ever needed nicotine more than I did right then. I continued to read the Independent, and was thoroughly outraged at its portrayal of the Pikes Peak Humane Society. The article was absolute nonsense and full of false information. But that�s a topic for another day.

Finally, the lectures and the pep talks were through and it was actually time to register for classes. I met with Chris to discuss which classes I should take. I told him I had been out of school for eight years; he looked dumbfounded. He suggested I take the minimum of 12 hours to be considered full time; I think he thought I couldn�t handle anymore. He proceeded to tell me that I had passed the calculus exam and could be placed in Calculus II, but suggested I take college algebra as a refresher. Had I not felt the same, I might have been offended. I easily placed higher in English due to my ACT score, but he suggested I take the easier English because it really didn�t matter which class I took; it wasn�t mandatory for my major. Next up � Chemistry. Now, the prerequisite for Chem 104 was 1 year of high school chemistry. I easily met that, I had taken chemistry and physics in high school, but he suggested Chem 115 (preparatory chemistry). �As a refresher�. Ok, I was getting annoyed. I had to set him straight. I told him that even though it�s been eight years, I�m not a moron, nor am I afraid of working hard to get back into the swing of things. I don�t need to be treated like a Special Ed student simply because I don�t fit the profile of a typical freshman. He backed down and actually started treating me with a little respect. I got Chem 104. He suggested if I�d like to get 16 credit hours I could take Philosophy-Critical Thinking and Computer Science to meet one of the engineering elective requirements. I choose to take both.

Basically, my schedule is Monday through Thursday around 9am until about 4pm. I�m working Fridays and Saturdays. Sundays � well, that�s my only salvation.

So, there you go. Tell me I can�t do something, and I�ll do it just to spite you. Now excuse me while I go cuss myself for doing this.

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory