06.02.04

11:24 p.m.

elucidating

<-- That is not me. Stop asking. Ok, now that we have that cleared up we can move on.

My cat saved a life today. It was completely against his will; he likes his blood, and really didn�t want to part with it. However, another cat needed it more than he did and his evil owner forced him to donate it.

It�s really amazing � the advancement in veterinary medicine. My 7 year old chow mix tore both his ACLs and had them surgically restored. Actually, if you�d like the specifics, he had a TPLO (Tibial Plateau Leveling Osteotomy) where basically, they cut the top of his tibia, rotated it and held it in place with screws and a steel plate.

Sounds expensive, huh? Well, it is. About $1500 a knee. I realize how insanely stupid it sounds to spend well over $3000 on a dog I rescued from the Humane Society for $70 - especially given my financial situation. But, with no desire whatsoever to reproduce my own offspring, I amazingly still have some sort of motherly instinct.

Where is the line drawn between the rational and irrational spending of money on a pet? $100? $500? $3000? $10,000? I think it�s all a matter of perspective. My financial advisor (if I had one) would berate me for spending that much. Another pet owner may scoff at the gullibility I have for my pets� feelings. Someone who feels more passionately than I do may say I should�ve done more. I think it�s na�ve to try to place a dollar limit on something you love. I�ve known people who�ve invested thousands of dollars into silly inanimate objects: cars, entertainment centers, retirement funds. Why? Because it makes them happy.

Now that I�ve defended myself, I can honestly tell you I feel absolutely foolish for spending that much on a dog. No matter how much I rationalize, I still feel guilty for doling out $3000 on a pet, but filing bankruptcy for my unpaid debt. I�m the type of person I hate. If I met me, I�d give me a real piece of my mind. You know, people like me are the reason interest rates on credit cards are so high. I�m the reason electric companies and cell phone providers charge outrageous fees. I loathe people like me.

Just for the record. I didn�t claim my vet bills in my bankruptcy...I�m still paying on the $3000 dollar dog. Does that make it any better?

last entry | next entry


pandaaaaaaaaaaaa

I'm Not Dead, I Swear

current
older


Bulletpoints - 09.01.10
Today starts week three of my jury duty. - 04.13.10
I think my eyes are permently swollen from crying. - 04.03.10
I know it's April Fool's day, but I promise you this is no joke. - 04.01.10
Tempting fate. Please don't let me regret this. - 03.29.10

Archives 2002-2004


email
notify
profile
links
guestbook
notes




Perfect Pandas
diaryland


Add to Technorati Favorites
Personal Blogs - Blog Top Sites
Health Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory